leaves for M’s cousin

January 7, 2010

I originally started this as a “big sister-present” for M’s cousin when her baby brother was born in September. However, I ended up having to frog it twice, and it ended up as a Christmas present instead (adn now I worry that it mght be too small, eek). The yarn is slippery Drops alpaca, quite wonky from all the frogging, but alpaca is slightly wonky anyway and I’m hoping noone will notice. The colour is a kind of raspberry pink, pink but not too pink for a girl who normally wears purple. The sweater is knitted top-down and the pattern is lovely – I really like the yoke leaves; they were what attracted me to the pattern in the first place. The sleeves aren’t decreased at all until right before the cuffs, which gives them a sweet puffed look that I like. The buttons are vintage plastic and very shiny – I have some blue ones as well – I adore them and the pale yellow contrasts nicely with the colour of the yarn, but they’re a bit on the small side, so I might have to change them if the new owner complains. I’m very happy with this project and if M was a girl he’d have one too!

Pattern: Marie by Britta Wilfert (rav link)
Yarn: Drops alpaca
Needles: 2.5 mm Knitpicks circulars

The sheepskin is from my friend’s brother-in-law’s sheep farm in the North of Norway and is utterly lovely; soft, long-haired and warm. One of my favourite things in the house. I’d take the entire herd if I could!

One Response to “leaves for M’s cousin”


  1. Ah! My favorite for girls! Lovely version in red.


Leave a Reply

