the queue

September 6, 2009

A mix between a UFO-finishing quest and new inspiration:

1. The Seamless Hybrid for my husband. He’s been waiting a long time for this. Currently I’m halfway through the body. Very happy with the way I did the hem, though – fortunately it’s accounted for in Ravelry, otherwise I wouldn’t have a chance remembering what I did.

2. At least one sweater for my son. I practically finished one (knittted in the round with raglan sleeves) for him yesterday, and then tried it on and it was too small – the sleeves were too narrow and didn’t leave enough room for the shoulders. So I’ve frogged all the way don to the first 5 cms of the sleeves. Slightly disenchanting, if I have to say so myself…

3. Stripy Noro Kureyon sock scarf. This has been in the making since last winter. I’m not quite in love with knitting it but I think I might like wearing it, so I soldier on. It’s portable and good train knitting, though!

4. Hats for the entire family. I have bought some very soft, squidgy alpaca yarn for my own.

5. A Lopi cardigan for me. I bought the pattern and yarn when I visited Iceland in 2007 and I think it’s time. I need a warm cardigan, too.

6. A Malin sweater for my niece. A top down pattern knitted in raspberry-coloured alpaca. My current train companion is my second attempt (now with smaller needles and hopefully a smaller gauge) at this.

There’s been a lot of frogging going on – the three sweaters are all second attempts. Hopefully, I’ll have something to show for it soon, though! And now, I’m going to spend some quality time with the TV (and a program on preserves) and one of the above. And some tea. It is autumn now, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

